skip to Main Content

Frank Sedgman was World Number 1 in 1951.

Frank won 5 singles grand slam titles and 17 Grand Slam Doubles / Mixed Doubles Titles.

Frank is in the Tennis Australia Tennis Hall of fame, he has a tremendous series of achievements in the game of tennis. Here are just a few…

Frank won the Wimbledon singles title in 1952, it was in the same year he also won the Men’s doubles and Mixed doubles, an achievement that has never been equalled.

In 1951 Frank teamed together with Ken McGregor to be the only men’s pair ever to win the Grand Slam in Doubles.

Frank’s grand slam singles record is:

  • Australian Open Champion 1949, 1950, Finalist in 1952
  • French Open Finalist in 1952
  • United States Open champion 1951, 1952
  • Wimbledon Champion 1952, Finalist in 1950
  • Frank also played in 3 consecutive winning Davis Cup teams from 1950 to 1952.

This award inspires junior Girls and Boys to chase point tournaments, in an effort to win the
Frank Sedgman Award. This award is proudly sponsored by Wilson Tennis and National Tiles.

2017 Frank Sedgman Award – Congratulations Tiahna Leader!

Congratulations Tiahna Leader!

Tiahna won the 2017 Frank Sedgman Award (the highest ranked 14 years and under) and received a Wilson 100L tennis racquet, valued at $330.00

Tiahna’s award was presented by Roger Rasheed, at Roger’s Masterclass in Bendigo, December 2017.

Previous winners of the Frank Sedgman Award:
2014 – Polly Barnett
2015 – Lachlan Hewitt
2016 – Jeremy Abel
2017 – Tiahna Leader


Inaugural Winner Polly Barnett, 2014


2015 Winner Lachlan Hewitt (left) & 2016 Winner Jeremy Abel with Frank Sedgman (centre)

Back To Top